Click here to -> Add A Question
Please make your question pertinent to Georgetown Slo-pitch.
For bats Will the thumb primts be the same for the 2017 season? Usssa and or Asa?
At this time there is no change for the NSA bat policy, all bats must have either one or combination of thumb print, NSA Canada Approved or ASA certified 2004. If anything changes I will update. Please refer to the NSA website for the list of approved bats and the 3 identifiers. www.nsacanada.ca
A play at home. The ball is overthrown. Can catcher tag runner inside commit line?
I tried to look in the rules but couldn''''''''t find this.... If a ball is hit and a fielder catches it in foul territory on the run and momentum carries off the field of play because it was close to being out of bounds, do the runners get to advance? We have been told previously that if momentum carries the fielder out of play on a close ball, there is no advancement but if they jog out with it when there was room to stop, bases are awarded. Just looking for clarification, seen it called differently. Thanks
From the NSA rule book:

Sec.5 RULE 8
BASERUNNERS ARE ENTITLED TO ADVANCE WITHOUT LIABILITY TO BE PUT OUT.

g. When a live ball is unintentionally carried by a fielder from playable territory into a dead ball area, the ball becomes dead. All baserunners are awarded one base from the last base touched at the time the fielder enters dead ball territory.

If, in the judgment of the umpire, a fielder intentionally carries a live ball into dead ball territory, the ball becomes dead and all baserunners are awarded two (2) bases from the last base they occupied at the time he/she entered the dead ball area.

EFFECT: A fielder carrying a live ball into the dugout or team area, to tag a player, is considered to have intentionally carried it there. A dead ball line is considered in play.

Runner on 1st. no outs. Ball hit to the 1st basemen. the runner on 1st does not move off the bag, the fielder touches the 1st base bag.... who is out? again the runner on 1st does not come off the bag.
The batter is out, the runner is safe. Since the first baseman didn''t tag the runner on first before touching the bag he/she took the force off making first available to the runner.
Is the batter out if their front foot steps in front of the plate to hit a ball? Their back foot is still in the box and at no time do they make contact with the plate?
Sec.22 RULE 1
ILLEGALLY BATTED BALL:

An illegally batted ball occurs when:
a. A batter’s entire foot is completely out of the box,on the ground,when he/she hits the ball,fair or foul.
b. Any part of the batter’s foot is touching home plate when he/she hits the ball.
c. The batter hits the ball with an illegal bat.

EFFECT (C):The opposing team has the option of taking the result of the play, or the ball is dead, the batter is out, baserunners may not advance.

Bottom of the ninth , two out . runners on second third , score tied. Can the pitching team intentionally walk a batter without even throwing a single ball? Just tell him to go to first automatically to set up the force play at every base. Pitchers have trouble finding the plate and players jump out of the box or in front of the plate all the time . If purposely thrown off the plate to cause a walk , player could jump to hit it casing fielding team to have to make a play in which an error could have been caused and the runner to score from third to win the game. Obviously smart to do as the pitching team to preserve the tie at least , but is it legal?
Yes you can intentionally walk a batter without throwing a pitch. You just tell the umpire you are walking the batter. Note: In this scenario if there is a girl on deck the batter gets second base and you win the game.
Batter hits the ball straight up… catcher moves forward and is standing with one foot on the foul line, the other in foul territory, ball hits off their glove into fair territory. Is the catcher in fair or foul territory and is the ball live ball or dead?
It doesn''t matter where the player is standing it matters where the ball is touched. If the ball is in foul territory when the player touches it, it is a foul ball, if the ball is in fair territory the ball is fair.
If you do not have enough girls able to make a game is it okay to call up other girls so that you can reach the minimum?
As long as they are on your roster.
Is a pitcher allowed to jump/hop in the air when releasing a pitch? Please explain rule if there is one
As per Rule 6, Section 2 in the NSA rulebook: The pivot foot must remain in contact with the pitcher’s plate until the ball leaves the hand. In the GSL there is no pitcher''s plate, so that would be the ground. If the pitcher hops after the pitch is released then the pitch is legal.
What exactly is the "legal" pitching distance for this league?
Minimum 50 feet to a maximum of 60 feet, by 2 feet wide.
I have a question to add on to an answer provided regarding hitting a two strike ball into foul territory and being caught for the out. The rule states that the play is dead once the catch is made. What happens if the fielder catching the foul ball proceeds into the out of play area due to his momentum. Do any base runners advance due to this situation?
No, runners can not advance. The ball is dead because of the strike out whether it''s caught or not.
Can a player slide into first base?
There''s no rule against sliding into first base.
In the 2014 NSA rulebook, Rule 7 Sec. 2 B, it states that "when a male batter is walked, intentionally or unintentionally, the male batter is awarded first and second bases and the following female batter has the option to bat or walk" Nowhere in there does it state it has to be 4 straight balls, just a walk, is 4 straight balls a GSP league rule? Or just something that has been overlooked? Thanks
this is in the constitution on page 22 Rule 8.C: If a male batter is walked on four or less consecutive pitches, he automatically advances to second base. The female batter, batting next in order, has the option of batting or receiving a walk to first. If walked on more than 4 pitches, the male goes to first and the following female must bat.
With a 15 man roster registered with GSL, what is the maximum allowed player bench strength during a game? How many players are allowed in the field? Can the players be rotated on and off the bench throughout the game to provide equal playing time? Sec.1 Rule 4: A TEAM SHALL CONSIST OF 10 OR 11-12 PLAYERS(??) Sec.2 Rule 4 NOTE 1: ANY TEAM MAY USE 2 EXTRA PLAYERS PER GAME.
You can play your full roster of 15. All players must be listed in the batting order and bat in that order. A player in the batting order must play at least 1 defensive inning. Only 10 players can be on the field defensively at one time. Yes you can rotate players throughout the game.
Bases are loaded, there is a male batter who is walked on 4 pitches and a female batter on deck. Does the male batter get 2 bases?
Yes, the male batter is awarded 2nd base, and the female batter on-deck has the option to take first base, or bat
Bases loaded, 2 runs have scored already. Batter hits what appears to be a grand slam. The runner from third steps on home plate. Runner is called out and no runs were scored due to him being the third out. Is this the correct call? Also, what is the result of this counting towards their home run total?
Your call was correct, the runner from 3rd is the third out, therefore no runs score. The home run counts towards their home run total.
How high does a foul tip need to be in order for the catcher to catch it for an out. We hear varying answers depending on which umpire is umping the game.
New this year - There is no minimum height or arc requirement for a caught foul ball.
With the 2014 season fast approaching, what is the official G.S.L. rating to be used in determining legal slow pitch softball bats this year? USSA 1.2? 1.45 ? ISA? NSA 2012? ASA? Thanks
USSSA and or ASA, although I believe the ASA logo is no longer being applied to new bats
In mixed ball you are not allowed to have more than 3 guys bat in a row. Is this from the begining of the order to the end of it? Or does that mean you cannot have two guys at the end of the order as well as two at the top before a girl hits?
you cannot have 3 guys in a row regardless the roll over of the lineup
Is sliding into 1st base legal if the runner touches the orange bag? Couldn''t find anything in the GSL constitution and the only reference in the NSA rules is for seniors. Sec. 9 RULE 8 Sliding is permissible at second base, third base, and returning to first base. No sliding at home plate or going to first base for the first time. I play in the men''s over 35 and mixed and have seen this called out and let go in both and would love to know what the rule is.
there is no rule against sliding into first base therefore it is legal
Situation: A ball is hit down the first base line, short of 1st base. The ball starts in fair terrritory, but the runner releases his bat and rolls towards the line, half the bat is in fair territory and the ball makes contact with the bat in what appears to be foul territory and re-enters the play in fair territory. Question: is this considered a fair or foul ball. (I understand that if the contact was made in fair territory, the ball is still fair if it stays fair)
if the ball touched the bat in foul territory than it would be a foul ball if the ball touched the bat in fair territory than it would be a fair ball
In men''s can a team play the rover/10th player in the infield or is he to be in the outfield?
yes, in mens play the only 2 players on the field that have to be in a certain position is the pitcher and catcher, everyone else can play anywhere they would like
In mixed how many men can you have in the batting order before a girl
3
If we are in the bottom of seventh inning and open inning was not called and the home team ties the game with no outs can the umpire call the game for time up? (No rain or anything)
Once an inning is started it has to be finished. However in the game in question it was not called because of time it was called because the home team had scored 6 runs. See mercy rule in the constitution. Only inning 8 and 9 are open innings.
Batter swings, ball hits home plate and goes into fair territory. Is ball fair or dead? It has happened to us 4 times this year, and been called different every time. Twice it was ruled fair, twice dead.
It''s a fair ball. The plate is part of the playing field.
The situation: runner on first and third, one out. Batter hits what everybody thought would be an out of the park HR and the runners took off without tagging. A great catch was made and the runners realised they had to go back. The relay to get the ball in was quick, but both runners made it back to their bags. Here is the question: does the runner at third have to go home? When that runner took off they crossed the commitment line and had actually crossed the line at home, then found out they had to go back.
Yes the runner would have to tag up and go home because the play is still live and the runner had commited to going home by crossing the commit line.
Can baserunners tag up and attempt to advance on a 3rd strike caught foul ball?
No.

RULE 9 – DEAD BALL - BALL IN PLAY
Sec. 1 RULE 9
THE BALL IS DEAD AND NOT IN PLAY
x. When a foul ball is caught and the batter has two (2) strikes.

In the mixed divisions can an outfielder play on the infield?
No.

RULE 4 – PLAYERS AND SUBSTITUTIONS 7 & 3 COED
Sec. 1 RULE 4
f. Outfielders may not be on the infield surface.

The batter running for first base is hit by a throw from the third baseman before reaching first base. The ball caroms out of play. What is the call.
This is a two part answer. Firstly:
Sec. 2 RULE 9
THE BALL IS IN PLAY
q. When a thrown ball strikes an offensive player.

Secondly:
Sec. 5 RULE 8
BASERUNNERS ARE ENTITLED TO ADVANCE WITHOUT LIABILITY TO BE PUT OUT.
e. When the ball is in play and is overthrown (beyond the boundary lines), or is blocked.

2. When the first throw is made by an infielder, two (2) bases shall be awarded. The award shall be governed by the position of the each baserunner at the time the pitch was made, however, if all baserunners, including the batter-baserunner, have advanced at least one (1) base when the infielder makes the wild throw, on the first play after a pitch, the award shall be governed by the position of the baserunners,when a wild throw was made.

Therefore in this case the batter is awarded second base.

If a runner,standing on the bag in fair iterritory, is hit by a batted ball is the runner out?
No.

Sec. 9 RULE 8
THE BASERUNNER IS NOT OUT:
k. When a baserunner is in contact with the base, and is hit by a batted ground ball or fly ball in fair territory, the baserunner is not out, the ball is dead and the batter-baserunner is awarded first. All baserunners advance one (1) base only if forced.
EFFECT: Ball is dead, all baserunners advance one base, if forced

Is there a maximum amount of "pinch runners" allowed per game?
The Men''''s and Mixed divisions are allowed 5 courtesy runners. The Over 35 division has unlimited courtesy runners. As per the April 2011 Annual General Meeting minutes.
In a recent game, a player slid into a base and injured their shoulder, what appeared to be pretty severe. The play was ruled dead, pinch runner allowed, etc. Immediately players from both teams came to help, but the umpire stayed behind home plate and took no control of the situation. Both teams were excellent at assessing the situation and making the right moves, with little to no input whatsoever from the umpire. What are umpires told to do when there is an injury on the field? Do the umpires have first aid training?
The league does not require umpires to have first aid training.
about substitutions. can a player sit out an inning and then come back the next? can they still bat if they are sitting on the bench? can we have to sets of outfielders that swap out every other inning and still be able to bat?
Yes to all. Your batting order lists everybody who is playing and doesn''''t change during a game (unless a player is removed because of injury). You can rotate players through the defensive positions any way you like. The only stipulation is that if your name is in the batting order you must play at least one inning in a defensive position.
Is there a mercy rule in effect for each inning for the mixed leagues?
The mercy rule for all divisions is 6 runs per inning for the first seven innings. Innings 8 and 9 are open.
During the game one of our players were hurt can he be substituted with another player that arrived late and after we went through the batting order?
Yes. A player substitution doesn''t need to be due to injury either.
Is there a minimum amount of games needed to be played by a player in the regular season to make them eligible to play in playoffs?
No minimum number of games. However they have to be on your roster.
In Mixed ball if a guy is walked on four pitches and the girl in line next chooses to hit is the guy still awarded 2nd base?
Yes, The rule stipulates, when a male batter is walked, intentionally or unintentionally on 4 or less straight balls, the male batter is awarded first and second bases and the following female batter has the option to bat or walk.
in regards to the 7th question on the list (batting out of order). mixed game, two guys bat, girl is missed, nobody notices, next batter hits and is male, so far ok, now we have skipped the female and moved one spot down the order to the batter who hit out of turn (three males in sequence). two males were up before the female was supposed to hit, and two males after because we continued with the order from that spot. what do we do now, four males in a row are up because female missed at bat.
NOTE I: Batting out of order is an appeal play, which may be made by the defensive team only.

a. If the error is discovered while the incorrect batter is at bat, the correct batter takes his/her place and legally assumes any balls and strikes.

b. If the error is discovered after the incorrect batter has batted, and before the next pitch to the following batter, the player who should have batted is out. Any advance or score made because of a batted ball by the improper batter’s advance to first base on a hit, error, or a base on balls shall be nullified. The next batter is the player whose name follows that of the player called out for failing to bat.

c. If the error is discovered after the first pitch to the next batter, the turn at bat of the incorrect batter is legal, all runs scored and bases run are legal and the next batter shall be the one whose name follows that of the incorrect batter. No one is called out for failure to bat. Players who have not batted and who have not been called out have lost their turn at bat until reached again in the regular order.

"Mixed ball" a girl at the plate, and girl on deck. (back to back girls). 4 straight balls to the girl batter. will the batter advance to 2nd base, and will the on deck batter (girl) have an option to hit or take first?
No, The rule stipulates, when a male batter is walked, intentionally or unintentionally on 4 or less straight balls, the male batter is awarded first and second bases and the following female batter has the option to bat or walk.
At a game on August 7, 2011, my team-mates and I felt that I had clearly beaten a throw to home plate. When the umpire called me out, I aksed him why, and he stated that I hadn''t "planted my foot" before the throw reached home plate. In other words, I assume that he meant that I crossed the safety line in advance of the throw, but my foot had not touched the ground. What is the official rule regarding this? I thought that the criteria for reaching home was "crossing" the safety line, regardless of whether or not any part of your body is touching the ground.
The umpires call was correct. The base runner is deemed safe when he/she has placed one foot on the ground on or over the line prior to a member of the defensive team touching home plate with control of the ball.
Can an outfielder throw someone out on first?
Yes, an outfielder may throw to any base to achieve an out.
5th Inning, bases loaded, 2 out, 6th run on 3rd, batter hits a home run. Batter goes down first base line until 6th run crosses the plate then he goes to the bench. He never touches 1st base. Defensive 2nd baseman and catcher note this to the umpire who says they cannot make a call because this is an appeal play and some of the defense had left the field.

I suggested that because the batter went off the base path, he was out and the inning over with the 6th run then stranded. Umpire disagreed, allowed the play to stand and said they would check with someone.

The impact - we lost by 21 runs instead of 20

Who was correct?

Since it was an over the fence home run and no force out can happen (because the ball is out of play) and since the runner crossed the plate prior to the batter leaving the field the run counts.

If the batter had entered the dugout prior to the run scoring he would be out and the run wouldn''t count.

Im the pitcher and I have a leg injury. Am I allowed to pitch and not bat pending on how my leg feels. Say one game it feels good I pitch and bat and next game it hurts am I allow off the batting order ad not bat at all for that game.
No. The GSL requires that anyone who is playing in the field is also in the batting order. Likewise everyone in the batting order must play at least once in the field.
Fly ball goes off the center fielder and without touching the ground the ball is caught by the left fielder. Do the runners have to tag up after the legal catch assuming they are off the base waiting to see if the ball is caught?
If the runner is in contact with the bag when the initial touch of the ball occurs, they may leave before the final catch is made.
What is the ruling when a hitter steps into the box out of order when its not his time to at bat???
Rule 7.2 a-c Batting out of order is an appeal play, which may be made by the defensive team only. a. If the error is discovered while the incorrect batter is at bat, the correct batter takes his/her place and legally assumes any balls and strikes. b. If the error is discovered AFTER the incorrect batter has batted, and before the next pitch to the following batter, the player who SHOULD have batted is out. Any advance or score made because of a batted ball by the improper batter''s advance to first base on a hit, error, or a base on balls shall be nullified. The nextr batter is the player whose name follows that of the player called out for failing to bat. c. If the error is discovered after the first pitch to the next batter, the turn at bat of the incorrect batter is legal, all runs scored and bases run are legal and the next batter shall be the one whose name follows that of the incorrect batter. No one is called out for failure to bat. Players who have not batted and who have not been called out have lost their turn at bat until reached again in the regular order. -- Ron
Batter steps into the batters box and is prepared to swing at a pitch, with an illegal bat (Freak 100). No pitches thrown. However fielding team stops game and our pitcher walks to the plate and explains that this is an illegal bat to the umpire. Is batter out and ejected or what is the official call.
Sec. 1 RULE 7
THE BATTER SHALL TAKE HIS/HER POSITION WITHIN THE LINES OF THE BATTER’S BOX.
c. The batter shall not enter the batter’s box with an illegal bat.
EFFECT: The opposing team has the option of taking the result of the play, or the ball is dead, the batter is out, baserunners may not advance.
d. The batter shall not enter the batter’s box with an altered bat.
EFFECT: The ball is dead, the batter is out, and without warning, is ejected from the game. Baserunners may not advance.
Just want some clarification as we have been told different answers by different umps. If a girl is at bat and hits to the outfield is the outfielder allowed to throw them out at first or is there no play allowed?? Thanks
There is no rule in either NSA or Georgetown Slo-Pitch that makes such a play illegal. An outfield may throw to any base to achieve an out.
runners on second and third. batter hits a homerun but it is only a single because they have max homeruns. do the runners advance with first base open?
Yes. The rule is this is a Ground Rule Single, all runners advance one base regardless of whether or not a force is in effect. -- Ron
2 out, runners on 2nd and 3rd. The batter hits a ball to the outfield, both runners score, but the batter/runner misses 1st base on his way to 2nd. The defense appeals the missed base at first and the umpire calls the batter out for the third out. Do the two runs count?
The two runs DON''T count because the batter runner never attained 1st base therefore it is still a force play. Had the batter/runner missed 2nd base on his way to 3rd and the missed 2nd base was appealled the runs would count.
Runner on first. Batter hits a sharp ground ball that hits the runner still standing on first. The ball deflects to the second baseman who throws the ball to second base.
The ball is dead as soon as it hit the base runner on first. The runner is awarded 2nd and the batter is awarded 1st.